The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, is a sovereign state located off the north-western coast of continental Europe.

The country includes the island of Great Britain, the north-eastern part of the island of Ireland, and many smaller islands.

The United Kingdom consists of four countries: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The latter three have devolved administrations, each with varying powers, based in their capital cities, Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast, respectively.



