## The political system of Great Britain

• The United **Kingdom** is situated in the north-west coast of Europe. It is consists of four countries: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.



#### Head of State - Queen Elizabeth II



 Queen Elizabeth Il is the head of state of the UK as well as of fifteen other independent Commonwealth countries.



• The monarch itself is symbolic rather than political, and only has "the right to be consulted, the right to encourage, and the right to warn".



# The powers of the Queen of Great Britain:

- the queen is the head of state
- has the right reward for services to the state
- has the right to veto laws passed by Parliament

🔶 the

queen may convoke an extraordinary session of parliament



### The UK Parliament



The UK is a parliamentary monarchy. The British Parliament consists of two Houses: the House of Lords and the House of Commons. Parliament is one of the most important parts of the British state machinery. Parliament exercises and judicial functions.



### The prime ministers of Great Britain



In the UK, nominally Queen may appoint the prime minister, but it's always a certain leader the party group, which forms the cabinet. Tod Prime Minister of Gre Britain is David Came Government formed b Prime Minister from a members of the party received more votes in House of Commons. A present there are about members of the govern it includes 4 groups of ministers.