I would like to present Great Britain to you

Made by Mishkina Sasha 9-th form «A» Teacher: Rozhina Tatiana Mikhailovna

The official name of the country is The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

The country is situated in the north-west of Europe and consists of two large islands, Great Britain and the Isle of Ireland, and about five thousand small islands. There are four st regions in the UK: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. The country is washed by the North Sea in the north, the Irish Sea in the west and the English Channel in the south. The English Channel separates Great Britain from France.

LAZY



The British Isles are the home of four nations — English, Scottish, Welsh and Irish. Even though foreigners often call all British people "English", and sometimes have difficulty in appreciating the distinctions, the component nations of the United Kingdom are well aware of their own individual characteristics The Scots, Welsh and Irish regard themselves as largely Celtic peoples, while the English are mainly AngloSaxon in origin. British society as a whole does not have a uniform cultural identity. There are about 64 million people leaving in great Britain. This average does not reveal the even higher densities in some areas of the country, such as south-east parts. Within Europe only the Netherlands has a higher population that England.

The official language is English, actively speaking Scottish and two Celtic languages: Welsh and Gaelic. Scottish and Gaelic are the national languages of Scotland. The Welsh language is the Welsh, and in accordance with the legislation enacted in 1967, the Welsh language has equal rights with the English language.

The United Kingdom consists of four pa England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. England is the central part, it occupies the most of the island of Great Britain. Each part has its capital: the capital of England is London, Scotland has Edinburgh, Wales has Cardiff, and the main city of Northern Ireland is Belfast. The capital of Great Britain is London; it is the cultural center of the country and is situated on the banks of the Thames. There are s lot of places of interest to visit. The Big Ben, the Tower Bridge over the river Thames, the International London Heathrow Airport, the Westminster Abbey, the National Gallery of Art and many others.

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. the flag of the United Kingdom is called the Union Flag or the Union Jack

or short) n 1603 King James 1 of England ordack **England and Scotland** Then in with Ireland. Now the flag ombines three countries (England, Scotlan Jorthern Ireland united under one monarch represented in ales is flag because at the time the flag appeared in 1606. W \mathbf{a} already united with Englar The Union Jack is a combination of the crosses of three patron saints of the country: the red cross of Saint George for England on a white background * the white diagonal cross of Saint and raw for Scotland on a blue background * the red diagonal cross of Saint Patrick for heland on a white background

the State Emblems of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland shows the Union of its four parts: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. The emblem was introduced after the union with Scotland in 1603. The shield of the emblem is divided into four parts. There are emblems of England (three lions on a red background) emblem of Scotland (a red lion on a yellow harp on a blue background). The two emblems of English lions symbolize the leading role if England in this union. the shield is supported by two mythic animals : the English loin and the Scottish unicorn. the emblem is headed with a crowned lion the symbol of power and might. below the emblem there are floral symbols of the four parts of the country.

This completes questions, Fill be glad to answer them now. my presentation. If you have

any