THE SECURITY COUNCIL

G

315

The authors:

Carlo In

Basova Arina

Manannikova Ekaterina

BACKGROUNDS

The Security Council has primary responsibility, under the Charter, for the maintenance of international peace and security. It is so organized as to be able to function continuously, and a representative of each of its members must be present at all times at United Nations Headquarter On 31 January 1992, the first ever Summit Meeting of the Council was convened at Headquarters, attended by Heads State and Government of 13 of its 15 members and by the Ministers for Foreign Affairs of the remaining two. The Council may meet elsewhere than at Headquarters; in 1972, it held a session in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and the following year in Panama City, Panama.

MEMBERSHIP IN 2012

The Council is composed of five permanent members — China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States — and ten non-permament members (with year of term's end).

India (2012) Morocco (2013)

Germany (2012)

Colombia (2012) Pakistan (2013) Togo (2013) Azerbaijan (2013)

Guatemala (2013)

South Africa (2012)

Portugal (2012)

MEMBERSHIP IN 2012

The General Assembly elected Azerbaijan, Guatemala, Morocco, Pakistan and Togo to serve as non-permanent members of the Security Council for two-year terms starting on 1 January 2012. The newly elected countries will replace Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Gabon, Lebanon and Nigeria.



ABOUT THE COUNCIL

1 Carlor To

PRESIL

The Presidency of the Security Council is held in turn by the members of the Security Council in the English alphabetical order of their names. Each President holds office for one calendar month.

The Int

♦ Ten non-permament members, elected by the General Assembly for two-year terms and not eligible for immediate re-election. The number of non-permanent members was increased from six to ten by an amendment of the Charter which came into force in 1965.

STRUCTURE

Committees:

<u>Standing Committees</u>. There are three committees at present, and each includes representatives of all Security Council member States.

•Security Council Committee of Experts;

•Security Council Committee on Admission of New Members;

•Security Council Committee on Council meetings away from Headquarters.

<u>Ad Hoc Committees.</u> They are established as needed, comprise all Council members and meet in closed session.

•Governing Council of the United Nations Compensation Commission established by Security Council resolution 692 (1991);

•Committee established pursuant to resolution 1373 (2001) concerning Counter-Terrorism;

•Committee established pursuant to resolution 1540 (2004).

STRUCTURE

Working Groups:

Security Council Working Group on Peacekeeping Operations;
Security Council Ad Hoc Working Group on Conflict Prevention and Resolution in Africa;

•Security Council Working Group established pursuant to resolution 1566 (2004);

Security Council Working Group on Children and Armed Conflict;
Security Council Informal Working Group on Documentation and Other; Procedural Questions.

Peacekeeping Operations Since 1948 there have been 66 United Nations peace-keeping operations.

INTERNATIONAL TRIBUNALS

()

•International Tribunal for the Prosecution of Persons Responsible for Serious Violations of International Humanitarian Law Committed in the Territory of the Former Yugoslavia since 1991 - established by S/RES/808 (1993) - International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICTY);

•International Tribunal for the Prosecution of Persons Responsible for Serious Violations of International Humanitarian Law Committed in the Territory of Rwanda and Rwandan Citizens Responsible for Genocide and Other Such Violations Committed in the Territory of Neighbouring States between 1 January and 31 December 1994 - established by S/RES/955 (1994).

FUNCTIONS AND POWERS

() IT

to mai
to inve
to inve
to rece
to deta
to call aggress:
to take
to rece
to rece
to rece
to rece
to rece
to rece
to rece m. C. . ?





E.

The

3

55%

5 4 S

- Ni

290

6

Month	Presidency	End of Membership Term
January	South Africa	31 December 2012
February	Togo	31 December 2013
March	United Kingdom	Permanent member
April	United States	Permanent member
May	Azerbaijan	31 December 2013
June	China	Permanent member
July	Colombia	31 December 2012
August	France	Permanent member
September	Germany	31 December 2012
October	Guatemala	31 December 2013
November	India	31 December 2012
December	Morocco	31 December 2013



R

3

State State