The University of Oxford

Made by Shkileva Anastasia group 212B





History

- The University of Oxford is a collegiate research university located in Oxford, England.
- Oxford university is one of the oldest universities in the world. Teaching has been taking place in Oxford since 1096.
- 24640 students study there including 90 undergraduates from Russia.
- Former Oxford students include 25 British Prime Ministers; at least 30 international leaders; 47 Nobel Prize winners; some 50 Olympic medal winners; 10 Chief Executive Officers.



Structure of Oxford University

- Oxford university consist of 38 separate colleges, which are independent and self-governing. Each college has leadership including the head of the house and researchers.
- The oldest colleges at Oxford University are Balliol and Merton.
- The university offers the huge number of departments and faculties in the following areas: math, chemistry, social sciences, life science, music, environment etc.



Balliol College



Merton College





When a freshman becomes a student, he accepts university's traditions:

- For example, in some colleges with conservative foundations there are not allowed to enter the dining room without uniform: gowns, suits and quadrangular caps.
- After the enrollment at one of the colleges every student recites oath in Latin in front of the government of Oxford. And after graduation students recite the oath again and change old to a new gown as a senior.





